Grandparents and Homeschool- A Special Post by Nana

My first experience with homeschooling was with my second oldest Grandson Jacob. He felt he wanted to try homeschooling in 6th grade and his parents agreed. Jacob’s first year of homeschool saw him flourish and he tested better at the end of the year than he had during his public school days.

Then my youngest decided to homeschool and she knew that I was on board. Because I can keep my grandson a day or two through the week, I have a unique opportunity to enrich his life.

Here are some ways I make our special time together count toward homeschooling while my daughter is working:

  1. We cook together and we make up our own special recipes. I sneak in his math lessons by measuring ingredients out or halving a recipe we may find online. Cooking with Grandma is a time-honored and special tradition.
  2. My grandson loves dinosaurs. We pretend we are on a dig in the backyard. We learn about bones, dirt, and rocks.
  3. We pretend we are in a castle or we design a castle or a city. We learn about what a city needs (doctor’s, banks, malls, police). We use our imaginations and learn all about the inner workings of what we build.
  4. We play 20 questions and learn about what it was like when Nana was young. We talk about decades and pretend to be real war heroes like George Washington.

Grandparents have an exceptional opportunity to bring experience to the learning experience and make special connections with their grandchildren during the day while the parents are working. I encourage other grandparents to get involved and give mom the day off (or take care of the kids while she works).

 

 

grandma

Leave a Reply

