A New Year, A New Homeschool

8e44d97b1eff5827af20babd6f7317df

2016 while a year full of blessings left me scattered and quite frankly I’m glad to see it go. Last year we were moving into our new house and doing a ton of remodel and repairs. As a result, we did a lot of already prepared lessons. While they can be a life saver, our son just gets bored easily with it. So it was a constant struggle between he and I. One I’m grateful for.. like all life lessons. 

Here’s what I learned from those curriculum struggles in 2016 and what I’m doing in 2017.

It’s okay to teach with shows. Sometimes, I just didn’t have the fight in me to make him sit down and learn from our workbooks and so we used Netflix and DVDs. The Cat in The Hat knows a Lot About That, Schoolhouse Rock, Sing Song Latin, and The Magic School Bus are some of our favs. Bonus, you can cook or clean while they learn! I’m not saying this should take over your school day, just that it’s absolutely a great tool to use when needed.

Drawing as writing curriculum. My son hates writing and he makes sure I know it! So, I turn more to Draw, Write, Now and my own drawing assignments for him on those days where the old workbook isn’t working for us. Bonus, he’s happy and so am I.

Outside play time = expeditions to learn about the world. A few documentary shows and Little Passport’s are great in teaching about different countries around the world. We then go outside and pretend we’re there. He actually never fights me on his history or geography workbooks but this is a great break.

These are just a few things we are going to do more of this year. The workbooks won’t be going away but we will have more fun in 2017 with our  learning. Just like he wants. Bonus, it’s fun for me too.

Leave a Reply

